Skip to main content

Last big brick in the books!

WOW! It feels like we are getting super close now! Yesterday was a cold and miserable bike ride, but we got it done! This time it was 65 miles in about 35-40 degrees! we had about every piece of clothing on from head to toe!! hand warmers, toe warmers and the works! It was at least not as windy as it has been lately, but there was a headwind on the way to ashland and a pretty nice tail wind coming back. I tried scratch for the 1st time and liked it. Also tried a belvita since i knew we would be getting off and running and i'm pretty sure i'll bring one on my real ride! we finished the last 15 around waterloo and then it was time for the 13 mile run! Estella and Eunice ran the 1st loop with me, then Eunice had to leave and then Estella left after 8 miles so I finished the last 5 by myself.  I turned on my music and did another loop, but the end of 11 miles i was feeling like crap but i still managed to average about 9:05 and get it done!!

The day before I swam at common ground. I did teh workout from the wednesday masters that i missed. I tried out my underwater headphones too which worked like a charm, but made it hard to count! lol. i was able to get in 3500.
This week isn't too bad during the week and then the weekend has a big bike ride and another 13 mile run. we really are winding down even though it doesnt seem like it!!
Hoping for some support this weekend on my long ride. I will have Eunice, Emily and Wayne for a little while i think which will be nice!

Seriously ready to get out of here and go do this!!!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Big week!

Wow! this has been a big week of a lot of long workouts!Monday was the eclipse, but I still got up for masters! Craig had a puzzle for us to solve on the workout...which ended up being Eclipse on the dark side of the moon. lol.  On Wednesday I swam the longest I have ever swam open water. 3500 or 2.17 miles! That is almost the full distance we have to go in Ironman and I'm super stoked to say I didn't stop and I felt like I could keep going. Getting stronger and stronger in my swim. Craig (at masters  common ground) told me my stroke is looking good! Which also makes me super happy!! I am feeling more and more that I am getting ready for this craziness!! This week also included an 8 mile run, which we did in the afternoon on Thursday...it was a bit brutal because it was hot and my legs were hurting from the ride the day before, but we made it through!! I thought 8 wouldn't seem like so far, but after last weekend's long ride and run it was a bit tough. On friday I s...

Time to hit the road

Can't believe its here....the trailer is loaded...my last run was done yesterday at 5am...my last swim was today at 5 am..the next time i'm in the water will be for the practice swim on saturday! its the real deal holyfield!!!! This year has been a long journey, fun at times, hard at times, frustrating a lot of times, but I have put the work in and now its time to GO BIG!!! I gave Donny his present today and told him how much his support and love for the last year has meant for me. I definitely am the luckiest :)

DAY OFF

It is a much needed day off today! Yesterday was master's swim and the eclipse adventure and with another big weekend of work outs coming...its definitely time for a night off to hang out with Donny and the boys. I am feeling better and better about  my swim. Craig (the masters coach) told me yesterday my freestyle stroke is looking good! That was a huge boost! Now if i could just get the bike down. I am still getting used to the new bike...i've only had it for a while, so I need to give myself a break. We are coming up on our half ironman in just a couple of weeks though, and I know its crazy hilly, so hopefully i will be ready! I was reading the IMAZ tri email talking about where we should be 3 months til race time and it was saying we should already have a few 80 milers under our belts and feel comfortable. that is pretty worrisome! The farthest we have gone is 75 miles and we've only done it once!! EEKS! The other thing that bothered me was it said we should be do...